“Slowing Down”

The greenest pastures I’ve ever seen,

pulled by Pinocchio strings

like a puppet I’m controlled by the

essence of the vast blue…

The fields of cows black and brown

Walking has become my new

Slowing down.

 

 

The caruța wheels

echo the peel of

a horse’s trot.

Rows of locals in back

like soldiers gearing for battle…

Dusty narrow roads lead to

the city’s hustle and bustle.

 

Walking is my new normal,

a defining humble,

a character building machine.

I can hear myself think

the birds sing, the heartbeat

the leaves whisper,

the rubber burns beneath my feet.

 

My return

Admonishes slow to learn

That I –

I am slowing down.

Permitting myself capitulation

in depth freedom,

from imposed instant gratification.

 

BoxACruglic

“Window”

I’m slowing down.

It’s different when I walk now,

imagining the dusty roads I call home

the peace it brings,

the stares of no consequence.

I’m humored really,

for time gained slow are recompense.

 

The buildings high,

The greens aside,

Where is the bunică?

Here I walk unseen and lost

The territory unfamiliar now,

I miss home –

where I learned the essence of slowing down.  – jusTIzz

Moldova

“Grapes of Peace”

 

About authenticselfadvocate

Hi! My name is Israel. Most people call me "Is". I'm a former medical student (turned humanitarian). Welcome to my home. As the Authentic Self-Advocate, I share my journey of becoming more authentic through journaling and community service.
This entry was posted in Blog Challenge, Blogging, Community Service, Health Educator, International, Missionary Work, Moldova, Peace Corps Moldova, Peace Corps Volunteer, Poem, Poetry, Walking and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “Slowing Down”

  1. Pingback: Blog Challenge Responses Round-Up #12 - Blogging Abroad

Leave a comment